We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Denver and Rio Grande Railroad

Appleby, England...
Level Contributor
2 posts
9 reviews
Save Topic
Denver and Rio Grande Railroad

My great grandfather was an engineer on the D&RGRR between 1887 and 1915. I am visiting Colorado between 23rd September and 28th September. Can you suggest a route to take in surviving bits of the D&RGRR?

Park City, Utah
Destination Expert
for Utah, Winter Sports
Level Contributor
18,800 posts
425 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Denver and Rio Grande Railroad

I'm not an expert on this but have a few thoughts. From what I know, the current line used by Amtrak from Denver to Salt Lake City uses much or all of the main line for the Denver and Rio Grande. It departs Denver heading into the mountains and through the Moffat Tunnel under the Continental Divide to Winter Park and on to follow the Colorado River Valley all the way through Glenwood Canyon and continuing to Grand Junction. From there it tracks through the desert, turning north at Green River to Price/Helper and on up and over Soldier Summit, down to the Salt Lake Valley. Amtrak runs that route daily. You could go all the way to Salt Lake City, but a more reasonable route if you're visiting Colorado is to take it from Denver to Glenwood Springs - one of the most scenic routes in the U.S. by train. If you are really short timed, maybe just do Denver to Fraser through the Moffat Tunnel.

There were many other spurs of the Denver Rio Grande. The current Royal Gorge Railroad runs on one of those routes, a few hours south of Denver.

You may already have read this but the Wiki on the Denver and Rio Grande is quite informative and gives you good detail on where many of the lines are today.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Denver_and_Rio…

Have fun.

WestSlope,CO
Destination Expert