We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best itinerary for 7 day RV trip?

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
30 posts
58 reviews
Save Topic
Best itinerary for 7 day RV trip?

A friend and I (both mid 20) want to rent an RV and travel Colorado for 7 days in the end of May till beginning of June. We're both active and looking to hike, kayak etc.

It will be my first time driving an RV. I did drive an APC (almost the size of tanks) in the army and I'm a pretty good driver. I was reading that the Million Dollar Highway might still be difficult for first time drivers?

Does anyone have recommendations for an itinerary? I'm reading about many amazing places, but I have a hard time, figuring out which places to combine and how much time to plan for each...

WI
Destination Expert
for Wisconsin, Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
6,063 posts
117 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Best itinerary for 7 day RV trip?

Include Estes Park/RMNP.

Other points/places of interest would be SW CO and Mesa Verde, maybe the Sand Dunes, it depends on how much driving time you want to spend given the 7 days.

Some notable towns include Crested Butte and Glenwood Springs for stuff to do, beauty, dining, etc. Colorado Springs/Manitou Springs and Woodland Park is full of much to do in one general area (cuts down on driving and you still get to enjoy a 14-er with Pikes Peak) and see including the Garden of the Gods and the Pikes Peak Cog Railway: http://www.cograilway.com/

www.gardenofgods.com/home/index.cfm?flash=1

www.gunnisoncrestedbutte.com Gunnison is also a neat town

http://www.visitglenwood.com/ Hanging Lake Trail, Glenwood Caverns/tram/adventure Park, Hot Springs Pool, etc.

I'm sure others will weigh in with great itineraries and suggestions.

Edited: 16 April 2014, 19:15
Colorado
Destination Expert
for Colorado