We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Young inexperienced Canadian traveler needs advice

Quebec City, Canada
6 posts
Save Topic
Young inexperienced Canadian traveler needs advice

Hey everyone. I am planning on seeing my girlfriend this summer. I live in Canada/Quebec, and she lives in Connecticut. I have done some research already, and I plan on taking the train there. I have never ever taken the train before. I will take the Vermonter (a really nice friend of mine is willing to drive me to Vermont for this) to Hartford, and my girlfriend's parents will come pick me up at this point. Now, I have no experience in travelling, especially travelling alone.. I need some advice, and know if there's anything I shouldn't forget or stuff like that. Thanks in advance for your responses!

conn
Level Contributor
1,659 posts
148 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Young inexperienced Canadian traveler needs advice

If your taking the train travel light. Amtrak is a good option. Bring some snacks and something to drink. Lastly bring a small camera, you never know when you will have a great photo opportunity.

Quebec City, Canada
6 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Young inexperienced Canadian traveler needs advice

I have a phone for camera. Pretty sure the Vermonter is Amtrak, and I'll add the snacks and drinks to my list of things to not forget. Thanks :)

East Haddam...
Level Contributor
586 posts
113 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Young inexperienced Canadian traveler needs advice

The Vermonter takes a little longer then the average train, but the nice thing about it is you're not driving. Take a book/movie/game with you to keep your attention just in case you can't sleep. Also to save yourself a few dollars book more then 3 days ahead if you have AAA and you get a discount.

Quebec City, Canada
6 posts
Save Reply