We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hawaii - something not too touristic?

Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 posts
5 reviews
Save Topic
Hawaii - something not too touristic?

Hi all,

I am about to make a solo trip (male, late 20s) in September and I would like it to be something mostly relaxing involving bit of surf (total beginner), swimming, meeting people and a nice landscape. I will be in California before that, so I was thinking to go for a week in Hawaii and stay in a hostel.. Problem is, I saw Honolulu pics with the Skyscrapers etc, and I didn't really like the feel. Seemed too touristic and commercialized. Is the whole city like that? The whole island? Is there any other place in the islands that is better for me? I'd like to see some traditional small towns etc..

I am also going to NY, so I was could easily go to the Caribbean from there instead (Jamaica or Dominican Republic). Is it a better option for me? Or should I just stick to the Californian coast and forget the islands?

Many thanks!

Edited: 25 June 2013, 20:53
pzp
Kauai, Hawaii
Destination Expert
for Kauai, Kapaa
Level Contributor
23,081 posts
57 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Hawaii - something not too touristic?

Honolulu is indeed a city, the only big city in the islands. The rest of O`ahu is much more rural. More rural yet is Kaua`i. Know that you will need a car anywhere but in Honolulu.

La Mirada...
Destination Expert
for Kauai
Level Contributor
15,204 posts
134 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Hawaii - something not too touristic?

Are you planning on renting a car? If not, then you're pretty much stuck with Honolulu. Public transit is pretty minimal on the other islands and not set up for tourists (no bags/back-packs, etc).