We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Port Huron

pittsburgh, pa
Level Contributor
26 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Port Huron

Does anyone know if the Lake Huron and Lake St. Clair have clean water? A friend told me the water was dirty and she wouldn't suggest swimming in either lake? Thanks for your input.

Michigan
Destination Expert
for South Haven, Saugatuck
Level Contributor
5,806 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Port Huron

Suggesting that the Great Lakes are dirty is so 60's. I've lived on the lakes for 52 years and they've never been cleaner. I have no personal experience with Lake St. Clair, but have been in Lake Huron many times and wouldn't hesitate to bath in it. A beautiful lake.

pittsburgh, pa
Level Contributor
26 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Port Huron

Thank you so much for the info. All the pictures on the internet look beauiful. This is our familys first "lake" vacation. We always go to the ocean and decided to give the "close" lakes a try. Any suggestions on what to do in the area? Thanks again

Detroit
Level Contributor
753 posts
66 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Port Huron

Do you plan on staying in Port Huron? My family has a cottage in Lexington and it's very quaint and can be a lot of fun. Port Sanilac is also a neat little town. Like the other poster said, the water is clean ..........................and I prefer Lake Huron over Lake St. Clair.

Michigan
Level Contributor
175 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Port Huron