We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Activities in MN July 3-8

Ardsley, New York...
Level Contributor
9 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
Activities in MN July 3-8

Plans I had for the Minneapolis area July 3-8 just fell through. I'm unfamiliar with this area or places nearby, and I'm looking for suggestions. I can rent a car, but I need places to stay and things to see and do. I like outdoor activities rather than shopping or city stuff - I love to walk, hike, bike, and kayak (I would need to rent, since I'm flying in). I'm a good distance driver, so I am willing to travel outside the city to someplace with outdoor activities. Resorts seem to be booked up (and very pricey) and I'm running out of options. Please send suggestions - thanks! :)

St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
40 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Activities in MN July 3-8

If you would be willing to rent a car and make the 3-ish hour drive north to Duluth, I think you might really enjoy it. You could watch a ship or two come into port, enjoy the beautiful scenery, take a stroll on the lakewalk in Canal Park, check out some local shops and restaurants, and take a tour of the Glensheen Estate.(very interesting) I also really enjoy the Lake Superior Zoo, it's small, but a nice place to kill a couple hours.

I've never been to Duluth during the Fourth, but i'm sure there is a nice fireworks display over the lake or something.

You could also venture north of Duluth along the north shore of Lake Superior for many state parks with hiking trails as well as Split Rock Lighthouse and Gooseberry Falls.

It is my opinion that Duluth and the rest of the north shore offer an out of state traveler the best Minnesota vacation.

Ardsley, New York...
Level Contributor
9 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Activities in MN July 3-8