We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Award Stays with Hilton

Which New York hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Darlington, Maryland
Level Contributor
222 posts
71 reviews
Save Topic
Award Stays with Hilton

This is an interesting story of unintended consequences in Hotel Marketing

I have been a Hilton Honors member for about 20 years. I try to stay at Hilton when I travel on business, the same way I try to fly on United. Points accumulate faster when you focus on one or two providers.

And our primary use of Hilton points is at the Doubletree Guest Suites in Times Square when my family is in town for the Macy's Parade. I've been staying at the Doubletree on points also for nearly 20 years. I usually earn enough points in a single year to take care of that Thanksgiving stay.

I convert my Amtrak Miles to Hilton points (they have a favorable exchange rate), and I earn points on my electric bill for Hilton.

Everything points to Hilton.

Until today.

Hilton just changed their points redemption policies, but kept the points earning ratios the same. And now my Thanksgiving Doubletree stay, which used to be 50,000 points a night, is now 95,000 points a night!

And I just did something I've never done before. I have an annual interactive television conference that I always attend in San Francisco in the late Spring. And the rates at the Hilton Union Square are usually pretty good, so I stay there to earn points.

But now, under the new program, there is NO WAY I will earn enough points in a year for my Thanksgiving stay -- not even close. It will actually be less expensive to pay for the room, rather than pay for sufficient Hilton stays to earn the necessary points.