We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountainside B&B in or near Rustic/Smallish Town

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
99 posts
11 reviews
Save Topic
Mountainside B&B in or near Rustic/Smallish Town

I am hoping that someone can point me in the right direction...

What I'm looking for:

B&B (or any lodging type, really) in the mountains in or near a rustic and small town. Being near attractions is a plus - I'm open to anything. Hiking and a place to go bike are a plus. I'm a history buff - I'm very much into microhistory, so even really small things are cool. My friend and I also wish to take pictures - he's a professional and I'm still learning.

We are considering *chasing waterfalls*. Medium affordability. I'd say $60 to $150 a night. Kitchenettes are nice.

Our vacation plans are in the very early stages of planning. Throw anything at me. I will form some more solid ideas. I'm so overwhelmed I don't know where to begin.

(This will also be posted in South Carolina and Virginia forums. We aren't sure which state to visit yet.)

North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,074 posts
76 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Mountainside B&B in or near Rustic/Smallish Town

If you want to 'chase waterfalls', the towns of Highlands and Brevard are in good locations.

Canton, Ohio
Destination Expert
for Ohio, Garden City Beach, Surfside Beach
Level Contributor
3,545 posts
213 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Mountainside B&B in or near Rustic/Smallish Town

My wife and I enjoy hiking at Hanging Rock State Park. There are a couple nice water falls here and some nice overlooks. www.ncparks.gov/Visit/parks/haro/main.php

There are rental cabins at the park and in the area and hotels a little further away... I am not familiar with any B&Bs....

Greensboro, North...
Destination Expert