We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Port Angles to Portland

Australia
Level Contributor
8 posts
22 reviews
Save Topic
Port Angles to Portland

My wife and I would like to spend aprox 7 days driving from Port Angles WA on 17th September to Portland. Can someone help with a scenic road itinerary through mountain area's. I am a serious advanced amature photographer.

Thank you,

Steve from Australia

Port Angeles, WA
Destination Expert
for Olympic National Park
Level Contributor
9,207 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Port Angles to Portland

I am confused as to your plan. The trip from Port Angeles to Portland does not go through or near any mountains.

Australia
Level Contributor
8 posts
22 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Port Angles to Portland

I was thinking of including areas like Mt Ranier - St Helens or Mt Hood area.

Would this work.

Thank you.

Oregon
Level Contributor
8,735 posts
42 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Port Angles to Portland

Curious why Port Angeles your start point

Bend, Oregon
Destination Expert
for Bend
Level Contributor
1,587 posts
20 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Port Angles to Portland

The drive from PA to Olympia, along the Hood Canal, is okay but also quite winding. I don't think it's worth the time for the scenery but it's been a LONG time since I've driven that way. PA to Silverdale, then Tacoma, might be a better route if you want to get to the Cascades Mountains. You should ask on the Washington forum for more information about this route as well as scenic drives to / around Mt Rainier, Gifford-Pinchot, and Mount St Helens.