We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Texas Road trip

Wolverhampton...
4 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Texas Road trip

Hi, Can anyone advise? I would like to visit Texas next July/August with my husband and two kids, the kids will be age 13 and 17 when we travel. We are hoping to go for 21 days. I've been looking at Houston, Dallas, Fort Worth, also San Antonio, Austin and would like to visit South Padre for the beach experience. Are there any places 'a must' that I've missed? Obviously we're on a budget as a family of 4. We've been to the States several times before but never visited this area. Can anyone advise on booking hotels as we go? I've never done this before, always rebooked our hotel with flights and car hire but as there are so may places we want to visit felt it would be better to book as we go along, just worried it may 'break the bank' if we're not careful! Would be grateful if you could advise? Thanks

Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
2,217 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Texas Road trip

Any particular sorts of things you want to experience? Outdoors? Cultural? Food?

It will be hot. Plan outdoorsy things for the mornings.

Corpus Christi...
Destination Expert
for Corpus Christi
Level Contributor
5,581 posts
74 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Texas Road trip

You will have no problem booking hotels as you go. Just use any reputable booking site or ask your hotel to book ahead for you if you are using a chain like Hilton, Marriott, etc. You could also research using kayak, for example, then call direct to your next hotel to book. Priceline is very good for San Antonio as is Hotwire. A good budget chain would be La Quinta, similar in many ways to Premier Inns in the UK.