We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

camera filters

Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
163 posts
7 reviews
Save Topic
camera filters

What type of filter do you use for Red Rock Country? I am a beginner in this . Do you use a different filter for sunrise/sunset time compared to high afternoon time? I use Canon lenses. Thanks for any help.

Park City, Utah
Destination Expert
for Utah, Winter Sports
Level Contributor
19,370 posts
426 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: camera filters

It's really personal preference, but I do not use any filters when shooting there other than the VERY occasional use of either a polarizer or graduated ND filter. Honestly, I wouldn't worry about it at all.

I'll make an assumption you you do digitally process your images in PhotoShop, Aperture, Lightroom, etc. My best recommendation is to ensure you shoot in camera raw which gives you essentially unlimited ability to adjust color, etc. per your desires. And there's already an enormous amount of color out there.

One of the challenges of shooting in the desert is that have deep blue skies but not often nice white puffy clouds. You can't do much about that, but think about that when you're setting up your shots.

Others may have differing opinions, but that's my opinion. Also, check out Photographing the American Southwest as a guide to locations and technique.

Have fun.

Torrey, Utah
Destination Expert
for Torrey, Capitol Reef National Park
Level Contributor
1,505 posts
71 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: camera filters