We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Utah - Arizona: what to see around Page and Kanab?

Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 posts
6 reviews
Save Topic
Utah - Arizona: what to see around Page and Kanab?

The Utah forum or the Arizona forum, such a dilemma... But I ended up here :-)

My boyfriend and I are doing a one month road trip starting and ending in Denver. We have our route pretty much figured out, at least where national parks are concerned. But we're a bit stumped regarding the area around Page and Kanab. First of all, we will be driving a rental SUV, so no real offroading possible. We're in our early thirties and we like to hike, but nothing too "extreme" for me (no wading through mud or steep drops and nothing too strenuous). Also, I'm an avid photographer.

There seem to be a lot of guided tours to inaccessible places, but it can be quite pricey so we can't do too many of those. White Pocket appeals to me a lot (which can be done from Kanab and Page) and Rainbow Bridge via Lake Powell. Antelope seems like a "must" but we're hesitant as we really don't like tourist traps and large crowds. There are so many options of trips and combinations, quite difficult to choose... Any recommendations?

Also, we'd like to hike in places we can reach on our own, as we prefer to hike alone on our own time and not depend on others. Are there places like that, accessible by paved roads or dirt roads in good condition and preferably photogenic/beautiful?

Here is our itinerary for the days in and around Page and Kanab:

Friday September 27th: visit Grand Canyon South (hotel in Williams)

Saturday September 28th: drive from Williams to Page - visit Grand Canyon South

Sunday September 29th: full day in/around Page (to be determined)