We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Places to go exploring Washington

Cardiff, United...
4 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Places to go exploring Washington

Hi there folks

I am planning to explore the Pacific Northwest during early September and am getting a bit bogged down in the pure scale of the place - I am like a kid in a sweet shop! I thought I would give an idea of what I am interested in doing/my budget and ask for some suggestions from people who know the area! I am a bit new to this and this is my first holiday on my own so bare with me!

Basically I am a 20 year old Brit who wants to do lots of outdoorsy stuff, particularly water based (Kayaking, canoeing, swimming etc.) although I dont have any formal training so it needs allow for beginners. I want to try and see as much epic, striking scenery as possible, be it through hiking, train rides or any other means. I want to absorb as much of Washington as I can. I was planning on going south to Oregon as well but I doubt I will have the time! My flight out of Vancouver B.C. is on the 18th - aside from that, I am free to plan what I want!

Only thing is - I can't rent a car because I dont have a license. My budget is as limited as I can make it. Trying to stay in youth hostels when in cities but can afford a small B&B. Want to stay below 60 dollers per night in accommodation if I can. Getting around will be confined to buses, trains and (if I can't avoid it) taxis.

So know you know a bit about me - is there anything that jumps to mind? Any words of wisdom will be greatly appreciated - planning holidays is more difficult than I thought it would be!

Barney.

Mentioned in this post
Oregon
Oregon
United States
Wet Planet Whitewater Rafting & Kayaking
Kayaking & Canoeing, River Rafting & Tubing
Whidbey Island Kayaking