We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Connecting flight to London

Level Contributor
2 posts
7 reviews
Save Topic
Connecting flight to London

I'm flying from Chicago to London Heathrow via Washington Dulles and am a bit worried about the whole thing. Is it easy for me to find where I'm going for my connection when I get off the plane? Its all with United airlines (both flights). Do I need to go through security again? What will happen to my suitcase? Do I have to re check it in? It's my first time flying on my own so it's all a bit scary! Please help?!

Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off...
1,381 Reviews
from US$13.50*
Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC
336 Reviews
from US$150.00*
Special Offer
International Spy Museum
219 Reviews
from US$18.20*
US$24.26
18 replies to this topic
Washington DC...
Level Contributor
21,181 posts
51 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Connecting flight to London

If it is all on United and on the same booking, it should be easy. The luggage will be checked through from Chicago to London. You will not need to go through security again. And your arrival gate will likely not be that far from your departure gate.

Maryland
Destination Expert
for Las Vegas, Washington DC, County Donegal, Western Ireland
Level Contributor
61,278 posts
48 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Connecting flight to London

How much time do you have between flights?

Springfield
Level Contributor
346 posts
146 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Connecting flight to London

This is an adventure. And, you are going to London. Lucky you.

Your passport will be checked in Chicago. Your luggage will be checked through all the way to London.