We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White House tour for non US citizens

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,291 posts
60 reviews
Save Topic
White House tour for non US citizens

As a teacher I would love to do a tour of the White House but of course being Australian means I do not have a congressman to contact. Are there any provisions for international visitors? I will be there early January.

Arlington, Virginia
Destination Expert
for Washington DC
Level Contributor
3,225 posts
47 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: White House tour for non US citizens

You will need to contact the Australian Embassy. If they don't offer tours for groups, try to latch onto a British group. The British Embassy doesn't care what nationality you are, as long as you are in a group with at least one Brit who signs the group up.

London, United...
Level Contributor
273 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: White House tour for non US citizens

how do you "latch on to a british embassy group"? Do you mean on the day of the tour, just showing up??

McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
523 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: White House tour for non US citizens

Contact the Australian Embassy for advice.

Never mind the White House. Go to The Capitol. It's much more interesting than the White House--honest. The White House has a certain cachet because it is so difficult to get into, but the tour is just a walk through and you only see 4 rooms. It takes 20 minutes. The Capitol is a much bigger deal.

And I have no idea how an Australian would "latch onto" a British group unless there is an arrangement with the British and Australian embassies.

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,490 posts
67 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: White House tour for non US citizens