We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ne regional sale

Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
1,797 posts
7 reviews
Save Topic
ne regional sale

Right no it is on sale $49 each way dc-ny. Can't book by tomorrow when the sale end. Will it be that cheap/on sale again before july. I have never used the train before, and do not know pricing trends. Thanks

Bethesda MD
Level Contributor
1,737 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: ne regional sale

I don't know, but you can count on the Megabus and other busses staying cheaper than that, so the only real question here is an extra hour or so each way.

Washington DC...
Level Contributor
20,427 posts
50 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: ne regional sale

In the NE corridor, Amtrak prices vary according to demand, sort of like with the airlines. So the earlier you make your reservation, the cheaper the price is likely to be. And trains that business uses to get to a morning meeting in NYC, for instance, will likely be more expensive than a train later in the morning. And vice versa coming back from NYC.

Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
1,797 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: ne regional sale

Thinking about taking the train to new york and the bus back for the experience of both and I hate getting stuck in traffic on the way to new york

Fairfax County...
Level Contributor
2,441 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: ne regional sale

$49 is the lowest sale price I have heard for that route, so you probably should not expect it to go any lower. Amtrak sales are not predictable, IMHO.

Sterling, VA
Destination Expert
for Washington DC
Level Contributor
12,153 posts
141 reviews
Save Reply
5. Re: ne regional sale