We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DC speed cameras -

Which Washington DC hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
ALEXANDRIA va
Level Contributor
759 posts
39 reviews
Save Topic
DC speed cameras -

Wow, I just read for the first time the other thread on the topic of DC photo speed enforcement yesterday when I got my mail. In it was what I thought to be another piece of fund raising mail asking for donations to some charity connected to the Metropolitan Police .Instead it was a ticket for speeding on I295 North at the Benning Road underpass. Nice clear pictures of my car and license plate.showing me speeding on a divided six lane highway (three lanes on each side of the road divider) at 10:30 am with no traffic .

As an attorney, I know that being impatient after sitting 10 minutes in the Pennsylvania avenue backup. to 295 because I stayed in line and did not cut in at the front of the traffic light is not a legal defense nor is not paying attention to the drop in the speed limit to 45 there.. Like I used to tell my clients: If you can't do the time, don't do the crime. I'm writing the check for $150 today But I am printing out the list from the DC Police of their speed cameras to help me rehabiltate myself.

http://mpdc.dc.gov/mpdc/cwp/view,a,1240,q,547991,mpdcNav_GID,1552,mpdcNav,|31886|.asp

IMO, the photo cameras are much nicer than being stopped by a police officer, pulled over to the side of the road, watching as twelve to 25 cars speed much much faster than you were going while the officer is busy writing you up, trying to pull back into the still speeding traffic. and last but not least, zero points.

Not all attorneys refuse to accept responsibility for their actions.

Charm

Edited: 20 January 2012, 18:45
Arlington, Virginia
Destination Expert
for Washington DC