We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Will I need a Car?

Which Washington DC hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
1,645 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Will I need a Car?

Hello, just started thinking about a DC trip. I know that plenty of places are walkable distances, however, there are places I want to drive to, like Gettysburg, etc. Should I get a car for the whole week, or for just a few days?

Again, I'm just getting started with my planning.

Washington DC...
Level Contributor
19,935 posts
50 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Will I need a Car?

No, you will not need a car for your time touring DC. It will just be an expensive burden. You will need one for the day you go to Gettysburg unless you take the Gray Line Tour. Don't know about the "etc" part. If it includes the Udvar Hazy Air and Space Museum out near Dulles Airport, then a car is the easiest way to do that.

Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
2,556 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Will I need a Car?

Group whatever you want to do outside of DC and you could rent a car for that period. I usually stay right outside DC in Arlington where it is possible to find hotels with free parking.

Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
1,645 posts
1 review
Save Reply
3. Re: Will I need a Car?

Thank you. The "etc." part is any tour I find outside of DC. I just found out how close Mt. Vernon is to DC and I've been told I've got to go there too!

How soon do I need to make a reservation to visit the White House and/or Capitol building? I'm thinking of early May 2013 for my visit.

Washington DC...
Level Contributor
19,935 posts
50 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Will I need a Car?