We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First Trip Alone

Which Washington DC hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
New York City, New...
Level Contributor
33 posts
Save Topic
First Trip Alone

I am a 20-year-old college student, and I am going on a trip alone to D.C. for a few days (however many days my budget permits) this summer. I have never traveled alone before, so I am clueless about how to plan. I don't know how to plan where to stay, how to travel when there, what to do, etc. FYI, my budget/available fund is ~$1200. Is this enough for a trip alone? If it's more than enough, I might plan another trip to another city...perhaps Boston. I live in NYC btw.

So please any suggestions/advice please, especially about transportation and a place to stay. I don't drive btw, and a plane is a no-no.

Arlington, Virginia
Destination Expert
for Arlington
Level Contributor
2,850 posts
41 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: First Trip Alone

First, good for you for wanting to take on the unknown. You should do a lot of reading on this forum, but fortunately visiting D.C. from NYC isn't that hard. With $1200, I'd say you can have a very comfortable four night, five day trip, which is the generally recommended length for a nice but not in depth visit to D.C.