We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

National Mall-centric trip--dining strategy?

Which Washington DC hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Level Contributor
78 posts
1 review
Save Topic
National Mall-centric trip--dining strategy?

Hi there, newbie here. Still in the early info absorption stage, just barely oriented.

We're coming next weekend and staying near the mall, doing the Smithsonians (as many as we can last) and holocaust museum. I see that our hotel is seemingly in a food wasteland--some delis but they are all closed for the weekend.

If we wanted to have a good but not overly dressy dinner Saturday night, what would be a good area to choose? We will have access to a car but I'm not clear on whether that's a good idea, I assume parking is iffy anywhere there is good food? I'd like something modern American and gastro-pub-ish, or failing that a REALLY good burger. (I'm a fan of fine dining but my companions will not be interested in dressing up, so I'll settle for something delicious.)

Thai would be a possible alternative. We live in an area with dismal Asian food, so it wouldn't be hard to impress us.

Thanks in advance.

Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5,987 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: National Mall-centric trip--dining strategy?

What is your hotel?

Washington DC...
Level Contributor
680 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: National Mall-centric trip--dining strategy?

I suggest the area bounded by Pennsylvania Avenue on the South, H Street on the North, 6th Street on the East, and 9th Street on the West. My favorite restaurants within that area are the three Jose Andres venues: Oyamel, Jaleo, and Zaytinia. There are other good ones, as well.

Washington DC...
Level Contributor
718 posts
50 reviews
Save Reply