We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

General DC Trip Tips (with and without kids) :)

Lee's Summit...
Level Contributor
38 posts
18 reviews
Save Topic
General DC Trip Tips (with and without kids) :)

I posted this on a previous forum and on my facebook page. I have heard great feedback from many...so I am making a separate post for this.

PLEASE ADD ANY INFO YOU HAVE ALSO....I AM SURE THERE ARE MANY MORE TIPS FOR NEW (& RETURNING TRAVELERS) TO DC!!!!! :)

We have been to DC 3 times over the past 5 years with 2 boys (now ages 13 & 10). Here are some tips and things I have learned over our visits…might not apply to everybody…but worked for us.. I am NOT an expert, just a mom with 2 boys and likes to plan trips :). We have stayed pretty much near the city and visited in the spring.

1. Bring LOTS of snacks and sandwich baggies from home. DC is not a city where you can drive to Wal-Mart and purchase snacks. :) I have even washed grapes and put them in plastic baggies ready to go!

2. Eat a big breakfast! I have learned to eat big at breakfast time, eat your snacks during the day and then eat an early dinner. You save time and money. HINT-ask your hotel if there are any room specials with free breakfasts. If there aren’t, ask if there are any other specials for breakfast.

3. Plan, plan, plan and plan early! To maximize your time there, you must do some planning. Search the forums…see what other people suggest doing and get some tips. Decide what you would like to do and mark those things on a big DC map. Do some research on what it takes to get in there (is it free and open anytime…or do you need a ticket?). Start organizing your schedules around the things that need a ticket (& when they are available) and the location of preferred activities.