We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belize or Jamaica??

San Francisco...
Level Contributor
2 posts
5 reviews
Save Topic
Belize or Jamaica??

Hello All!

I am a female college student planning a solo trip this summer for about 2 weeks on a budget. Based on all my research I've narrowed it down to either Belize of Jamaica. Both are beautiful and are within my price range in terms of flight rates. The only problem is, I am having a hard time deciding on which one?!? I'll be staying at a hostel(s) and am interested in beautiful beaches, snorkeling, hiking, exploring, meeting new people, adventure, etc.

Any helpful advice is appreciated! Thanks!

Philadelphia...
Level Contributor
58 posts
115 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Belize or Jamaica??

Belize has a lot to offer. The water is beautiful. Snorkeling and scuba are amazing. Caye caulker is very unique! It does not have beaches on the island but rather docks you can swim off of. So you will want to book snorkeling trips. Jamaica was nice but I didn't feel safe venturing out or solo (this was back in 02 so maybe it has changed). I know a lot of people love the ATM tours, jungles, and Mayan ruins in Belize so it has a lot to offer. Good luck!

Saint James City...
Destination Expert
for San Pedro
Level Contributor
14,679 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Belize or Jamaica??

I've only been to Jamaica once, we went to Negril. The beach is awesome. Nice people. I'd go solo, but, I don't find it as 'comfortable' as Belize as far as being alone. We didn't snorkel, I understand it isn't great.