We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

From bus station (Novotel's) to Water Taxi Dock

A J
Toronto, Canada
11 posts
Save Topic
From bus station (Novotel's) to Water Taxi Dock

Hi,

I'm wondering how to get from the bus station to the water taxi dock. Can I walk (how long of a walk) or should I take a taxi? If taking a taxi, how much should I negotiate for the fare? This is my first time in Belize (actually, a REAL vacation), so any help is appreciated.

Thanks!!!

Saint James City...
Destination Expert
for San Pedro
Level Contributor
15,350 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: From bus station (Novotel's) to Water Taxi Dock

If that's the main bus station in Belize city, it isn't very far, I'd guess less than half a mile. We did take a cab since we had no idea where we were going. it wasn't much, less than US$5.00.

If you don't have much luggage and get good directions, I'd walk it.

Caribbean
Level Contributor
5,687 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: From bus station (Novotel's) to Water Taxi Dock

It's an easy walk of about 1 km all along sidewalks through the city.

Exit the bus terminal, turn left and walk about 150 metres to Cemetery Road.

Turn right and cross over the small bridge -- from this point, the street is also known as Orange Street. Continue for 500 to 600 m until you reach Albert Street -- the Belize Bank should be almost directly ahead. This is the downtown area of the city.

Turn left, walk for about 100 m and cross the famous Swing Bridge.

Turn right onto North Front Street and the Caye Caulker Water Taxi terminal is on your right. The other water taxi terminal is a couple of hundred metres along North Front Street.

Belizeans are friendly -- ask for help if you need it.

There's a map on the BelizeBus site, and you can follow the route on Google Earth.

http://belizebus.wordpress.com/