We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Guided or non guided hike to Arenal?

Level Contributor
32 posts
Save Topic
Guided or non guided hike to Arenal?

Hi all,

I'm planning my trip for the summer to Costa rica and thinking of staying in Arenal for 2 nights. Any suggestions on must do activities and hotels. I'd probably wouldn't have a car but would be getting other means of transportation Is it worth doing a guided hike to the volcano or should I just do it on my own... Assuming I can

go on my own without a guide. I'm considering

doing a Cano Negro tour. Any serene beaches

nearby? Please let me know if you'd need more info. It's my first time going there! Thanks everyone for your help! I appreciate it.

Slovenia
Destination Expert
for Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14,801 posts
60 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Guided or non guided hike to Arenal?

There is Lake Arenal nearby but I have not seen any serene beaches there. Most serene place was Eco Termales Hot Springs, evening session. You cannot hike volcano Arenal, with or without a guide. You can hike to Cerro Chato, an extinct volcano, with a guide. That would be a full day event. As it is Cano Negro boat tour. So with only two nights and one full day you are seriously limiting yourself. Arenal is known as the outdoor activities capital of Costa Rica.

Level Contributor
32 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Guided or non guided hike to Arenal?

Thanks for the info! I really appreciate it. I realized I was confusing by saying "hike to the volcano" sorry about that. I meant to say the area in general. I'll take a look at Cerro Chato. I heard Eco Termales was nice so thanks for that!

guanacaste
Level Contributor
3,091 posts
46 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Guided or non guided hike to Arenal?