We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Using prepaid ATM cards and cash as an alternative

Level Contributor
1,811 posts
23 reviews
Save Topic
Using prepaid ATM cards and cash as an alternative

I am planning a two stay in Guatemala next summer but I am concerned about these ATM scams that I have learned about on this forum. I have never used a prepaid credit/ atm card before and am thinking that it my be a solution. Does anyone know if they are as easy to use as any other ATM card? I was also thinking about just changing cash. I'll be doing a homestay with 3 meals so I other than paying for an excursion or two and buying a few souvenirs, I cant imagine needing too much money anyway. Any thoughts? I just am a bit worried about using my regular ATM card while in Guatemala.

Mentioned in this post
Guatemala
Guatemala
Central America
Lake Atitlan
Destination Expert
for Lake Atitlan
Level Contributor
1,076 posts
241 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Using prepaid ATM cards and cash as an alternative

The prepaid cards may be a good alternative, especially if you can keep the balance very low, and add to it as you need. Great idea.

The Dalles, Oregon
Destination Expert
for Guatemala, Belize
Level Contributor
13,244 posts
328 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Using prepaid ATM cards and cash as an alternative

If you had a back up idea and were maintaining a balance small enough that losing it wouldn't ruin your trip, this might be great. My concern is that my bank wouldn't hold me accountable for an ATM fiasco where other people removed funds from account, but I think with a debit card you'd be stuck.

Ideas and info here:

http://www.creditcards.org/prepaid?lp=1

Level Contributor
1,811 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Using prepaid ATM cards and cash as an alternative