We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

lake conditions

Williamsport,PA
6 posts
Save Topic
lake conditions

looking to see if anyone has a current condition of the lake.......i will be in san pedro in 2 weeks?

Lake Atitlan
Destination Expert
for Lake Atitlan
Level Contributor
1,030 posts
224 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: lake conditions

I am a full time resident of Lake Atitlan, and can report that the lake is in excellent condition. You can swim, scuba, kayak, and enjoy the lake in all its wonder.

Clinton
Level Contributor
141 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: lake conditions

We've been in Pana since early January and have been swimming in the lake near hotel Buenaventura (near the awful green towers) and it has been fine. Lots of kids swimming at the public beach. Things appear ok at this point; when it warms up more, who knows, but there does seem to be some serious actions being planned to help cure the lake.

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
698 posts
22 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: lake conditions

Just back from a couple days at a friend's cottage near Sta. Cruz. The lake looks pretty much normal (i.e., gorgeous) to me. Unfortunately, "normal" also includes seeing raw sewage flowing straight into the water at Sta. Cruz and around Panajachel. I wouldn't put my face in the water anywhere near either place, but it should be a lot cleaner away from shore or at some place less populated. A reliable hotelier also reported being told by a government agency not to serve fish from the lake to his guests, but I have no idea on what basis they made that recommendation.

Los Angeles...
Level Contributor
7 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: lake conditions