We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Top Rated Condo Rental Agencies

Washington
Level Contributor
492 posts
41 reviews
Save Topic
Top Rated Condo Rental Agencies

I am looking into renting a condo from an owner on Kauai. I am seeing a number of rental agencies and am wondering if some have a better reputation than others? (if you can ethically tell me that...I know that there is always someone who has had a bad experience) Is the rental agency just the listing agent and you then deal with the owner?

I have never done this before but the prices are so much less in some resorts than booking thru the hotel that I thought I would look into it.

Are there any questions I should be asking or other things to be aware of if I decide to rent a condo? Thanks

California
Level Contributor
5,924 posts
46 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Top Rated Condo Rental Agencies

If someone won't take a credit card don't use them. You have very little buyer protection unless put your rental on a credit card.

San Jose
Level Contributor
3,074 posts
43 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Top Rated Condo Rental Agencies

I just booked one through "Kauai Calls!" for the Waipouli resort.

http://kauaicalls.com/

So far I am very satisfied. We have not travelled yet though. The woman I have been working with (Candace) has been very friendly and honest. One thing I like is that they manage a lot of units at our chosen resort, so if there is an issue with a unit being sold or foreclosed they should be able to make other arrangements. I had spoken to a few independant owners, and one had no rental contract at all which made me very uncomfortable. The terms and conditions of their contract seem fair and common. No red flags yet. They are also based on Kauai, and have a cell phone number listed which is a bit comforting.

San Jose