We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Beach Resort

Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
306 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Best Beach Resort

Which of the major, luxury resorts is set ON the nicest, most tranquil, swimmable, non-rocky beach? My wife and I are used to vacationing in the Caribbean and while we understand that the beaches of Hawaii are totally different, we are interested in which Hawaiian beach and resort would be most similar to what we like.

Bloomington...
Level Contributor
36 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Best Beach Resort

I'm no expert, but I'd say if you're "used to" Caribbean beaches/water then you may want to look into staying at one of the many nice resorts on the west/southwest side of Maui. There are more than enough to pick from and visit on your stay.

Kauai / Los Angeles
Level Contributor
2,004 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Best Beach Resort

The two luxury resorts on Kauai would be the Hyatt and the Princeville. Neither of them has a real great beach, although the Princeville is calmer because of reef protection. You can always walk or drive to a nicer, sandy beach though.

Greensboro, North...
Level Contributor
283 posts
95 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Best Beach Resort

I would consider the Sheraton Kauai for the best beach. This is NOT a 4 star hotel, but if you get an oceanFRONT room it will be quite nice. Also, as long as you don't pay rack rates, it is much less expensive than the Princeville or the Hyatt.

Hope this helps.

California
Level Contributor
10,862 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Best Beach Resort