We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Just got our airfare for $45!

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
409 posts
Save Topic
Just got our airfare for $45!

I've been researching for nearly nine months in order to get a good deal on our airfare. I mean, I have literally looked at hundreds of different options with flying into different places, but no matter what the tickets were still around $1,000/person. My husband kept telling me I just needed to get something because we're going in December and it's getting real close. I just couldn't give up though.

I finally figured out a way to transfer Marriott points to United miles and I was able to get one-way tickets there, so I was happy with saving half the cost. My husband travels all the time for work, so we didn't mind using the Marriott points. There was no way we could get tickets home though since it's right after Christmas and the cheapest award tickets they've ever had were for 40,000 miles each.

Well, I looked yesterday and two different flights opened up for the day I was wanting for 20,000 miles each! I figured out a way to downgrade our stay at the Marriott in Maui in order to have enough points to get the tickets! We're staying at timeshares in Kauai and Oahu so it wasn't too much of a sacrifice.

I just had to purchase 2,000 Marriott points to have enough to transfer to get the United Miles so all together our airfare cost $45! I can't believe it. I've never used frequent flyer miles before and didn't think they ever really worked. Plus, they are great flights. All the flights I was looking at purchasing were 14-15 hours travel time and ours are 10.5 hours both ways! Diligence definitely pays off since I just saved $2,000!

Los Angeles, CA
Destination Expert
for Oahu
Level Contributor
4,328 posts
39 reviews
Save Reply