We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

irish students causing trouble last year

Waterford/UCD
Level Contributor
15 posts
Save Topic
irish students causing trouble last year

im an irish student and im thinking of going to maui next summer on a j1 visa but i've been told that last year the irish students caused a lot of trouble last year and heard that landlords and retailers etc. are doing deals not to employ/ rent to irish students next summer. could someone tell me if this is true or not as i have to start booking soon.

Hana, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8,031 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: irish students causing trouble last year

Heck not all Irish act alike! I'd go, but don't remember hearing about any Irish trouble. (Heck, they even let me go!) Maybe someone will reply with info.

Maui
Level Contributor
1,475 posts
157 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: irish students causing trouble last year

J109,

It hasn't been just last year...it has been for the past several summers. The word is out to landlords that if one or two of these students rent a place, you'll have 15-20 living there. Loud parties, damaged units, etc. More hassle than it is worth. I don't know about any "deals" but the problem is common knowledge around Lahaina.

Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
2,594 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: irish students causing trouble last year

I believe those were Notre Dame Fighting Irish students causing the problems last year.

I don't blame them - I'd be fighting mad too if I paid good money to attend a mediocre university with a pathetic football program.

Elk Rapids, Michigan
Destination Expert
for Lanai
Level Contributor
9,602 posts
53 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: irish students causing trouble last year

So what is going to happen when Notre Dame hits town for the upcoming bowl game with UH?

Maui
Level Contributor