We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extremely tame snorkel spots?

yfunk3
Level Contributor
470 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Extremely tame snorkel spots?

I know there are plenty "snorkeling on your own" threads on this forum, but they mainly consist of COUPLES or a pair of people wanting to snorkel without a tour company, etc.

I will be traveling solo to Maui in a week, and I just wanted to get some advice on places where I can basically just wade in, stick my head in the water, and see...something. Fish, turtles, anything. LOL Maybe areas surrounded by rocks, bays, etc? I mean, I'll be sure to get a snorkel belt just in case, but I'm not that great a swimmer and just want to enjoy myself, maybe take a few pictures of what's under the water, that type of thing. Nothing too extreme for a complete beginner.

I know not to go out into deeper water by myself, especially since I've never snorkeled before. If I enjoy an experience like the type above, then I might pony up the money to go on a snorkel tour to Molokini or something one of my days there.

Thanks in advance for any advice or tips!

dallas, texas
Level Contributor
478 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Extremely tame snorkel spots?

I ordered a book from Amazon called Snorkel Maui (tip from TA poster)...and it looks really great!

Me and my family have snorkeled in Cozumel and Bahamas, and love it. Don't be afraid to book a snorkel boat trip for a newbie -- they will have people on board (or they should - ask when you call to book) that will be able to give you good instruction and oversee your snorkeling (so it would be safer than going alone to a beach). I would also advise you to only go to beaches with lifeguards. Don't risk it no matter how calm the water may seem.

Hope your trip is wonderful!

Chicagoland
Level Contributor