We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How to disinfect a snorkel?

Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
327 posts
12 reviews
Save Topic
How to disinfect a snorkel?

Hi there,

We are leaving for Maui on April 2nd. My family all has costco snorkel gear. We used it last year in Mexico and will take it again this time. When we were in Mexico last year my one son got a terrible case of herpangina. It caused horrible little cold sore type blisters in his mouth along with other symptoms. He ended up sleeping in the hotel room for two days.

My question is this. I assume after a year there is no chance of the virus still being on his snorkel. But I am a nurse and am a little crazy about the 'just in case'.

So can any experts out there tell me what a good easy way to disinfect the snorkel would be? I'm assuming a bleach solution but wonder if it will deteriorate the rubber/plastic on the snorkel. Thank you!

Hartford...
Level Contributor
1,276 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: How to disinfect a snorkel?

bleach it

boil it

Kapaa, Hawaii
Destination Expert
for Maui, Hana, Oahu
Level Contributor
43,975 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: How to disinfect a snorkel?

I know most snorkel rental places bleach theirs. I don't know what kind of ratio they use if any. Best bet would be to buy him a new one!! They aren't very expensive and it would guarantee you peace of mind.

Eugene, OR, USA
Level Contributor
143 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: How to disinfect a snorkel?

If you boil it you might ruin it. I'd use a 10:1 water/bleach solution, then let it sit out to dissipate the chlorine. Disinfect the mask as well, since it's so close to the eyes.

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3,710 posts
87 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: How to disinfect a snorkel?