We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Suggestions surf trip in summer (beginner)

Rimouski, Quebec...
Level Contributor
49 posts
Save Topic
Suggestions surf trip in summer (beginner)

Hello guys, I plan on making a 1-2 months trip this summer to Maui or Kauai, dont know which one yet but I limited myself to these two islands.

I heard surf conditons in summer are soso... ?but probably good for me since I'm a beginner and never surf yet! I plan on taking only one or two surf lessons to start and then go on my own.

Could you give some general suggestions and which island I should go and what part of the island? For the time I will be there, I plan to rent an apartment or something similar.

Thanks for your help !

Mentioned in this post
Maui
Maui
Hawaii
Kauai
Kauai
Hawaii
Kapaa, Hawaii
Destination Expert
for Maui, Hana, Oahu
Level Contributor
50,276 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Suggestions surf trip in summer (beginner)

In the summer months, the best place to catch some waves would be south facing shores. Try Maui Wave-Riders in Kihei.

Mentioned in this post
Maui Waveriders
Maui Waveriders
797 Reviews
Maui, HI
Kihei
Kihei
Maui, HI
Rimouski, Quebec...
Level Contributor
49 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Suggestions surf trip in summer (beginner)

Thank you! I'll look into this compagny for private lessons. Is there many beaches for beginners in the surounding area or in the south shore so I could look for my accomodations ?

Beside that, do you know how's the lifestyle on Maui compared to Kauai ? In terms of surf conditions, activities nightlife, etc. From your experience, do you think it's more expensive to live on Maui than Kauai ?

Mentioned in this post
Maui
Maui
Hawaii
Kauai
Kauai
Hawaii
Rimouski, Quebec...
Level Contributor
49 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Suggestions surf trip in summer (beginner)