We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

red sand beach

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 posts
Save Topic
red sand beach

I posted questions on here before and I have always received really good advice!

So here is my nex question..

Mu husband and I are going to Maui in 3 weeks and we are taking our 2 year old. We were reading about the Red Beach in Hana and that is something that we would love to do. I read some reviews where they say that it is tricky to get down the hill to the beach. Do you guys think it is safe to do that hike with our 2 year old. I am not really a hiking pro so I dont know much about it. What do you guys think?

Kapaa, Hawaii
Destination Expert
for Maui, Hana, Oahu
Level Contributor
43,927 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: red sand beach

Kaihalulu Beach, aka, the red sand beach in Hana is not only dangerous for adults but for kids, forget it. It's not a simple hill, it's a cliff side trail that you actually have to hang onto a tree to get over. Not only that but it's a clothing optional beach. Much better places for you to go in and around Hana.

There is Koki Beach which is dark red and easy to get to, close to Hamoa Beach.

Edited: 26 April 2013, 23:00
pzp
Kauai, Hawaii
Destination Expert
for Kauai, Kapaa
Level Contributor
23,358 posts
57 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: red sand beach

NO WAY could a 2-year-old do it! It's barely doable for an adult with good balance and no fear. Speaking from experience, it's easy to slip on the trail, and there's about a 10-12' drop straight down to the ocean.

washington
Destination Expert
for Maui
Level Contributor
22,121 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: red sand beach

Furthermore, from my son's account of the hike, maybe not scenes of naked folks you want to explain to your 2 year old! Just a note.

pzp
Kauai, Hawaii