We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Humpback whale research

San Diego...
Level Contributor
2,484 posts
Save Topic
Humpback whale research

I came across this on the NOAA website for the research that was done on Maui for 2013/2014 season. There is some interesting projects

…noaa.gov/science/permittedresearch.html

Kapaa, Hawaii
Destination Expert
for Maui, Hana, Oahu
Level Contributor
45,892 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Humpback whale research

That is interesting, thanks for posting this John!!

San Diego...
Level Contributor
2,484 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Humpback whale research

since they are already on the way........ here is another article I found interesting.

I am no expert but the increase in whale collisions just has to be because of the increase in number and types of tour boats.

Many years ago there where just a handful of whale watch tours and I remember when they banned the parasailing off Kaanapali beach during whale season and everyone thought that was really something.

isciencetimes.com/articles/6622/20140104/wha…

Edited: 23 August 2014, 20:05
San Diego...
Level Contributor
2,484 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Humpback whale research

another report I read by NOAA stated the obvious that the higher the speed the greater the chance of a fatality for the whales especially the calves. They said that any collision over 10 knots with a young whale could increase the chance of a fatality greatly and since they spend most of the time on near the surface they are the ones most in danger.

I'd like them to put a speed restriction on the boats not just a distance restriction or is there such a thing already?

I'd be willing to pay more if it took longer for the tour rather than some advertisements I've seen...we go fast so you can see more whales

Just me

Kapaa, Hawaii