We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Where to eat on my 40th birthday

San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
5 posts
68 reviews
Save Topic
Where to eat on my 40th birthday

There seem to be so many excellent choices in Oahu for great dinners and it's hard to decide where I will go to commemorate my 40th birthday. This is my first time to Hawaii and I want to minimize the risk of being disappointed. I'm a steak lover. II'll be staying at Outrigger on the Reef and would prefer something within walking distance and where I can get great cocktails. It will be just me and my partner. Thanks for any tips or suggestions.

Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
127 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Where to eat on my 40th birthday

We celebrated my 70th birthday 9/8 in Hawaii. We had an excellent meal at Ruths Chris just minutes from the outrigger on Beachwalk. Steaks were the best we've ever had and they gave us a nice birthday "surprise" dessert. They have an early bird dinner for $39 which is good in Hawaii.. We also had excellent dinner at "Ocean House" right in your hotel. Lobster dinner was 2 tails and they were also excellent. Happy Birthday!

Corona del Mar, CA
Destination Expert
for San Diego, Orange County, California
Level Contributor
54,004 posts
422 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Where to eat on my 40th birthday

If I were going to recommend a steakhouse, it would be Hy's, which is exquisite. It is very old school, dark paneling and the works.

But you are in Hawaii, it is a shame to waste million dollar settings. You can get great steaks in San Antone, you can't get views of Diamond Head with a gentle trade wind blowing through the restaurant.

Go next door to the Halekulani Hotel for sunset cocktails at the House Without a Key followed by dinner at Orchids, which does a great steak.

Manhattan Beach...