We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Impact on Waikiki?

Virginia
Level Contributor
677 posts
33 reviews
Save Topic
Impact on Waikiki?

I realize the long term impact of this spill (and am sorry for how this affects Hawaii), but was wondering from the locals if this will still be a factor on the Waikiki beaches in a couple of weeks. I will be there then, so wondered. Between the timing of the jellyfish and this I am not having much luck with the local beaches in the area. Link to the article is below:

…nbcnews.com/_news/…

Elk Rapids, Michigan
Destination Expert
for Lanai
Level Contributor
9,628 posts
53 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Impact on Waikiki?

I don't think it will affect the beaches at all but sure is hard on the sea life around the spill area.

I am not an expert but it is a big ocean and feel it will disburse/dilute without ever getting near the beaches.

Corona del Mar, CA
Destination Expert
for San Diego, Orange County, California
Level Contributor
53,958 posts
422 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Impact on Waikiki?

Zero.

Kapaa, Hawaii
Destination Expert
for Maui, Hana, Oahu
Level Contributor
46,408 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Impact on Waikiki?

The pretty fishies went belly up. This is rather far from the Waikiki Beaches. Like scott say's I believe there is zero chance of anything happening there!! The DLNR was on this very quickly.

laguna niguel, ca
Level Contributor
7,324 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Impact on Waikiki?

2 days and it will all be gone. We went thru this before on the great sewage spill. Its a huge ocean and there are currents, it will clean up pretty fast.

Lagrangeville, NY
Level Contributor
2,873 posts
71 reviews
Save Reply
5. Re: Impact on Waikiki?