We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silly Question for African Experts

Canada
2 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Silly Question for African Experts

Hello,

My fiance and I have been backpacking through Asia and Australia for 3 years now, and we have our eyes set on Africa next.

Im sure this is a stupid question, so forgive my ignorance please, but I am curious about how easy and safe Africa is to travel without a Safari trip booked.

We have looked at numerous safari's from Cape Town to Kenya or Cairo, but we really hate tours, and have always done things ourselves in our travels. These Safari trips, as amazing as they look, seem extremely expensive.

I guess my main question, is can a couple travel Africa safely and easily and avoid the major tour companies? Or, is it best to choose a reputable safari company for the entire tour?

Apologies for asking a question that has probably been asked a million times, and thanking you in advance for any information you can provide.

CanadaLance

Stanley, Falkland...
Level Contributor
32,679 posts
75 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Silly Question for African Experts

Hi,

"Safari" just means journey. Would you have a journey in Asia and Australia? Well, you can have one in Africa.

DO you normally book with a tour operator? It doesn't sound like it, and there is no need to use one in African countries.

You can, if you wish (and do some research, simply book flights, car hire, and accommodation or travel round by public transport, depending on which of the 54 countries you choose to visit. Some are easier than others to get around in.

durban
Level Contributor
1,951 posts
25 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Silly Question for African Experts