We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Using a USA cell phone in South Africa

Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
836 posts
895 reviews
Save Topic
Using a USA cell phone in South Africa

I'm a complete novice when it comes to using technology overseas. My family is travelling to South Africa next month and we'd like to be able to use at least one of our phones during our trip. We have an iphone and a Samsung Android. Being able to make calls would be nice, but access to the internet would be even better (especially since I understand there are ways to make inexpensive int'l phone calls over the internet). We'd also like to download a GPS function for driving. The Adroid is certainly "unlocked" if that helps.

Is there an "easy" way to do this at a cost that makes any sense? Or is this a technological leap too far, and we would need a cheap local phone to make calls -- and just use the internet where we can find wireless access?

Thanks.

Johannesburg, South...
Level Contributor
30 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Using a USA cell phone in South Africa

As long as the phone isn't locked, I don't see why you can't use the phone and just buy a local sim card, using pay-as-you-go airtime/ data packages. Local service providers are Vodacom, MTN, Cell C and 8ta. Should be easy to buy a sim card at the airport when you arrive.

Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
836 posts
895 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Using a USA cell phone in South Africa

Thanks. Can someone give me an idea of what's available to buy and at what cost? Being able to make int'l calls at a low price would be good.

Port Elizabeth
Destination Expert
for South Africa
Level Contributor
6,251 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Using a USA cell phone in South Africa

The 3 network operators are www.vodacom.co.za www.mtn.co.za and www.cellc.co.za