We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Africa this Summer 2013

Berkeley Heights...
2 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
South Africa this Summer 2013

We are planning to go to South Africa this Summer 2013. Has anyone taken a Smartours trip to South Africa in the past year or so. How was it?

Thanks,

Marc M

London, United...
Level Contributor
399 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: South Africa this Summer 2013

Smart tours have an annoyingly long thread on here full of 1st post endorsements, so I would look at that. Personally I would use a smaller tour operator for a personal service or self drive. Feel free to PM me for recommendations.

Johannesburg, South...
Level Contributor
703 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: South Africa this Summer 2013

Hi Mark,

I am a South African based agent, and have never heard of them. ThanD is spot on. Its better to use a smaller operator and get the personal service that most will offer you, along with personal experience of the properties - hotels and safari lodges that they will recommend, as well as assit you with planning and putting together a tailored itinerary for your requirements and budget etc.

I hope my advice helps.

Regards.

Brett | Owner | Safaris For Me | South Africa

Northampton, United...
Level Contributor
1,840 posts
43 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: South Africa this Summer 2013

Hello and yes I would consider self driving. If you want to combine a Big5 safari, with mountains, history and warm beaches then consider visiting KwaZulu Natal. Are you thinking of visiting g between May & September?

Mark - Owner - SafariKZN

Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 post
5 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: South Africa this Summer 2013