We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

bean bags vs. Gorilla for cameras

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
42 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
bean bags vs. Gorilla for cameras

I would like some advise from the any one who has used bean bags or sand bags or the Gorilla on safari. I know that a tripod is not as useful for a safari

What is the best for a "moving" safari? We used a tripod for our Polar Bear Safaris and they were good since those lovely animals just ambled along and we did have lovely shots of them But the Tanzanian safari is fast moving most of the time!!

How big or heavy should the bean/sand bags be and can I ask my tour operator to buy them for me? Do they come in cloth bags?

what is best? sand, bean or gorilla?

I am a novice camera lady and would like some advise from others for good safari shots.

thankyou

May 43

Findlay, Ohio
Destination Expert
for Tanzania, Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Level Contributor
12,485 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: bean bags vs. Gorilla for cameras

May... If you use a gorilla for the stabilizer then you might want to sedate him so he doesn't move on you. They tend to get nasty when the camera tickles their stomach.

All kidding aside, you will put the bean bag on the top of the vehicle. I would just bring a bag along (like a 15 lb four sack) and then go to the market and get some rice or dried beans and fill it 3/4 full and use that for a stabilizer. Typically when you are using this the vehicle will be stopped, otherwise you will be bouncing so much that you couldn't possibly take a photo.

When you are finished with the safari give the rice/bean bag to your driver/guide for his family's dining pleasure.

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
42 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: bean bags vs. Gorilla for cameras