We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malarone Question

Alameda, California
Level Contributor
762 posts
10 reviews
Save Topic
Malarone Question

I have my Malarone for my trip in 4 weeks, and I read that it should be taken with a "milky drink". What is served at breakfast (which is when I want to take it) that would be sufficient? If milk is available, I have read here that maybe we should stay away form dairy. I have also read here that some people take it with a more fatty or greasy breakfast. The instructions say a "milky drink". Is there such thing during breakfast in safari?

Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
246 posts
46 reviews
Save Reply
31. Re: Malarone Question

I'm not a doctor but I play one on TV, er, I mean TA.....

Talk with your Doc! Or better yet, probably, a good travel clinic that is up to speed.

Diarrhea is a VERY common side effect of malerone. But it usually presents in a different way than bacterial or viral diarrhea. Which is to say you'll typically have watery stool but you'll be in control of the timing. (although I'm sure this can vary with the individual.) I had an 8 week course of malerone and things didn't solidify, so to speak..., until I was off the drug. But I never had a problem about when I would go.

But seriously, talk to a doctor and not me.

http://www.webmd.com/drugs/drug-19799-Malarone+Oral.aspx?drugid=19799&drugname=Malarone+Oral