We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

herds in Botswana?

Bay Area
Level Contributor
629 posts
Save Topic
herds in Botswana?

We're planning (way far ahead) to visit Africa during August and September sometime in the future--probably not in 2011--but in 2012 instead. I am just beginning my very early research.

I think we are leaning toward visiting Botswana, South Africa and Victoria Falls instead of Kenya and Tanzania. The only thing I am worried about, is that I don't think there are herds of zebra, wildebeest, etc. in Botswana. Is this true?

I know we will miss the migration, if we go to Botswana, but this is o.k. with us. We don't have to see them running across a river. And there don't have to be 30,000 of them.

On the other hand, seeing herds of game (in one way or another) just "says Africa" to us. Will we have the opportunity to see this in one of these southern countries?

Wayzata, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2,857 posts
31 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: herds in Botswana?

If you travel in August-September you can expect to see herds of elephants especially along the Kwando-Selinda-Savuti-Savute-Chobe-Zambezi river systems. About 100,000 will congregate that time of year over the entire range of this collective water body. People often see 300+ at a time. You could expect the same types of herds in Hwange National Park - perhaps 200-300 at a time.

You can also expect large herds of buffalo in the range of 100-250.

You are correct that you will not see herds of zebra and wildebeest in Botswana. But - you will still see these animals in their normal numbers (20-50 or so). The migrations phenomenon will be taking place on the Masai Mara in Kenya as the migrations are historically on the Masai Mara from July-October. They are in Tanzania the rest of the time.