We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Should I be worried? Tour booking issues.

Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
147 posts
9 reviews
Save Topic
Should I be worried? Tour booking issues.

OK, so, I've been researching my upcoming trip to Uganda/Rwanda for about 5 months. After carefully reading all the recommendations here, I contacted Kazinga Tours to inquire about a private tour. The price they came back with was way out of my budget, so instead I decided to join the May departure of their Highlights of Uganda and Rwanda (15 days) scheduled tour. The price listed on their website is $1720 per person (2 people sharing) plus $500 for a gorilla permit. I'm going alone, so they said I would have to add on $700 for a single supplement. No problem.

After emailing back and forth with Warren he indicated that I should send my deposit ($1700, which seemed high for a deposit, but whatever) right away by PayPal to guarantee my spot on the tour. He made it seem urgent, so I did so right away. At that time he had been saying I would receive a booking form from him but, even though I asked several times, he still has not sent me any kind of paperwork. After they received my deposit Warren notified me that I was the only person signed up on the tour so far and if no one else joins before the departure I will have to pay $3300 instead of the price I was originally quoted.

That would have been nice to know before I sent them my deposit.

I just checked with Warren again, a month after all of this transpired, and he said no one else has yet signed up. The tour departs in just over two months and I'm starting to wonder how likely it is that anyone else will join up.