We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rwanda/Uganda paired with Tanzania

Ohio
Level Contributor
323 posts
385 reviews
Save Topic
Rwanda/Uganda paired with Tanzania

I have been researching this for several months, I have periods of time that I can spend a few hours than I have to work to try and pay for this. After my last post, I received really great information. Here is my problem.:

1. We definitely want to do Tanzania, a short safari.

2. We must see the gorillas, either Uganda or Rwanda.

3. We would like to see the chimps, country doesn't make a difference.

So, I emailed all of these tours companies in Uganda and to see the gorillas and chimps is very expensive.

Does anyone know if we can see the gorilas in Rwanda and the chimps in Tanzania/Rwanda??? Or maybe just go to Uganda for the Chimps?

If we skip Uganda, what will we miss by "just" going to Rwanda and Tanzania?

To those experts who have helped me in the past few months, thank you for any more help you can give me, this is very ":challenging" to try and figure out.

Isle of Man, United...
Level Contributor
37,650 posts
374 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Rwanda/Uganda paired with Tanzania

I remember the gist of your last post but not the detail so regrets if duplication occurs.

You can "do" Gorillas is Rwanda and then hop a plane to, or arrive from, Tanzania quite easily. Easier than Uganda where you are faced with a longish drive from any airport to where the Gorillas are found. IF time is of the essence then do that!

Chimps. To reach Gombe Stream and other Chimp locations in Tanzania is not easy. So you are stuck with two alternates. Several locations in Uganda and one in Rwanda. Neither location is suitable for a quick drive there and back. Rwandan chimps are in Ngungwe Forest which is a good days drive from Kigali or Ruhengire.