We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Delhi-Agra-Udaipur-Jaipur

Brighton, United...
Level Contributor
2 posts
12 reviews
Save Topic
Delhi-Agra-Udaipur-Jaipur

Hi all,

I am hoping to do the following trip (on a smallish budget if possible) in just under a week this June and I was wondering whether I am being too ambitious. I am a lone traveler and it is my first time in India. I am spending 9 weeks in India total, but would like some advice on this first week.

I fly into Delhi Saturday at 8am (acclimatise and recover mostly this day, maybe small amount of sight seeing)

Sunday- 6am train to Agra then 17:40 train overnight to Udaipur (arrives 6:10am next day)

I am interested in seeing Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Fatehpur Sikri, do you think the latter is possible?

Monday - Udaipur

Tuesday - Udaipur (leave 22:20 for Jaipur, arrives 6am next day)

Wednesday - Jaipur

Thursday - Jaipur

Friday - 6am train from Jaipur to Delhi arriving 10:30

Saturday - fly to Cochin late morning

After this I am flying to Cochin and traveling up to Mumbai for 3 weeks, then I am spending a further 6 weeks in Mumbai, therefore, Delhi wasn't a priority for me to see, should it be?

Originally I was planning on travelling the typical golden triangle, however, Udaipur has caught my eye, and the only trains running between Agra and Jaipur have me leaving Agra early (5-6am) and therefore spending more money on a hotel for the night, or arriving in Jaipur late (10pm onwards)

Thanks for any advice

Sarah

London
6 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Delhi-Agra-Udaipur-Jaipur

Hi Sarah

This is Alex, i and my boyfriend did something similar a few weeks ago. We did go to Jaipur and Udaipur but we had a private taxi. The reason was the extra night in hotel and Taxi costed nearly the same price but gave us an extra night in Udaipur.