We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sun and a swim in land-locked Nepal?

Preston
Level Contributor
491 posts
7 reviews
Save Topic
Sun and a swim in land-locked Nepal?

I can see how busy this forum is and realise this may be a ridiculous question but……….

I normally spend my holidays in Sri Lanka along the lines of: beach – tour – beach – tour - beach. I’m not a novice traveller, I can make my own way in Sri Lanka and India on buses and trains etc. and I don’t have silly expectations but I like sunshine and in between the expeditions I crave comfort.

Despite being a Buddhist I’ve never thought about a holiday in Nepal but I’ve been offered a return ticket to Kathmandu at the end of this month. I’m currently in need of some R&R, this would normally include a daily swim followed by a lounge in the sun.

My question is this: Is there anything for me in Nepal – or is it only for serious trekkers with all the gear?

I will research more but I need to decide by Sunday so I thought I’d ask.

Regards

Mark

Mentioned in this post
Kathmandu
Kathmandu
Kathmandu Valley, Nepal
Milan, Italy
Destination Expert
for Tibet, Montagna e sport invernali, Milan, Nepal, Bhaktapur, Kathmandu, Jomsom, Mustang Region, Namche Bazaar, Sagarmatha National Park, Ladakh, Annapurna Region
Level Contributor
7,835 posts
290 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Sun and a swim in land-locked Nepal?

In Kathmandu or Pokhara there're some R&R solutions (like here for example: tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g293890-d412080… )

Nepal is first a country full of culture, traditions, some of his towns are something like an open air museums. The must is a tour of the beauty of the valley, not only mountains or trekking, safari in the tropical forest in Terai.

But I think you can find Relax and obviously Sun in this himalayan country