We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trip report and musings

Settle, United...
Destination Expert
for Nepal, Annapurna Region
Level Contributor
2,333 posts
140 reviews
Save Topic
Trip report and musings

Just back from a very enjoyable trip as part of a party of six friends / acquaintances (age range 58 - 72, but noticeably not the oldest people on trek: grey power rules the hills !). I used the same Nepali company that I've been using since 1996, and the arrangements were as ever impeccable.

Day 1 - tour of Swayambunath, Kathmandu Dhurbar Square, Bodnath with an excellent, intelligent and informed guide

Day 2 - fly to Pokhara for trek. By road to Khande, then ascend to Autralian Camp for lunch (and a very heavy rain shower) before ending the day at Pothana. Views limited by clouds

Day 3 - one of my favourite days walking anywhere - along the side of the Modi Khola valley via Pittam Deorali ('Nice View' tea house lived up to its name) and Tolka to end at Landung

Day 4 - swift descent to cross the Modi Khola, then a long, steep drag up to Ghandruk. I was chased up (slowly) by a delightful 77 year old Aussie lady. My first ever visit to Ghandruk - a pleasant village well worth an afternoon's exploration

Day 5 - to Tadapani for lunch, then on to Banthanti where the quite basic 'Hungry Eye Lodge' provided a delightful welcome, hot showers for all, and an entertaining 'Ama Party' after dinner

Day 6 - to Ghorepani, arriving on the ridge above Deorali in time for great views (which then slowly disappeared into the cloud). The rhododenrons were superb !