We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Short pleasant hike in Kathmandu valley

Edinburgh, United...
Level Contributor
284 posts
22 reviews
Save Topic
Short pleasant hike in Kathmandu valley

Greetings all!

This is my first time on the Kathmandu forum, I am very much looking forward to spending a week there on the way back from Australia in August (rainy season, but I'm sure I will enjoy it none the less!).

I'm looking do a short 3D2N hike around the region, and have found one which includes the following at a very reasonable price. Would you kindly let me know whether this is a decent route as a taster and not too strenuous? I intend to go back one day to do the Everest base camp trek (when I have the physical capacity to do so :-P)

Day 01:

Kathmandu- Chisapani. Drive from Kathmandu to Sundrijal for an hour, trek to Chisapani. Overnight at Chisapani.

Day 02:

Chisapani – Nagarkot: trek to Nagarkot. Overnight at Nagarkot.

Day 03:

Trek down to Changunarayan and visit old Hindu temple Changunaraya and drive back to Kathmandu.

Any advice would be much appreciated. I'm young and reasonably fit so I'm not looking for "easy easy" but I'd like to be able to enjoy it rather than feel embarassed for not being able to keep up with the pensioners haha!

I'm looking to do it at the start of my stay so I can then have a few days to explore Kathmandu city and recover!

Many thanks

CG

France
Destination Expert
for Nepal, Tibet, Bhutan, Bhaktapur, Kathmandu, Jomsom, Mustang Region, Namche Bazaar, Sagarmatha National Park, Annapurna Region
Level Contributor
3,450 posts
80 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Short pleasant hike in Kathmandu valley

Hello,

Welcome to TripAdvisor forum for Nepal!