We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Volunteer in Bangkok?

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Volunteer in Bangkok?

My names Patrik, I'm 25 and from Sweden. I have been staying in Bangkok for 6 months and I'm going to stay here another 6 months at least. My background is that I owned a law firm for 3 years in Sweden and we worked with helping injured and sick people to get compensation from their insurance companies.

I would love to get involved in any kind of charitable cause here in Bangkok, preferrably with children. I'm open to do any kinds of tasks, for example teaching the people in need in various subjects such as English. I could also benefit the organisation itself by bringing my knowledge about marketing, attracting donations and such.

Could someone please advise me on how I can get involved? Orphanages and such does not seem to be very present on the web.

Mentioned in this post
Gold Coast
Destination Expert
for Ko Pha Ngan, Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
26,129 posts
67 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Volunteer in Bangkok?

Contact The Mercy Centre in Khlong Toey:

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15,915 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Volunteer in Bangkok?

Do understand that to legally perform any type of work, even unpaid volunteer work, requires a work permit.

Pawtucket, RI
Level Contributor
16,703 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Volunteer in Bangkok?

Owned a law firm starting at age 22 sounds pretty good! You should know that you will need a work permit to work legally.

I think it is a good idea to also do a police check on all male foreigners who prefer to work solely with little children. Don't need another Gary Glitter or John Mark Karr.

Our community is here to help!Ask questions, get advice and more from travellers like you.